PHSchools logo

April 11, 2024

For immediate release


  • Keely Baribeau, PHASD Director of Community Relations,
    (810) 984-3101, ext. 4021;


Nominations are being accepted throughout April for 2023-24 Advocator, Innovator and Educator of the Year.

PORT HURON, Mich. — For its ninth year, Port Huron Schools launches its district-wide staff award campaign and is requesting nominations for Advocator, Innovator and Educator of the Year. Anyone in the Port Huron community can complete the brief nomination form on and specify the particular area of excellence for the individual they are recognizing.

Port Huron Schools Superintendent Theo Kerhoulas encourages anyone in the Port Huron Schools community to nominate someone they feel is deserving of this accolade and who exhibits the best in our district’s mission actions. 

The deadline for nominations is Friday, April 19. Winners will be surprised in their classrooms during National Teacher Appreciation Week, which is May 6 to 10, 2024.

Port Huron Schools has proudly partnered in this endeavor since it began with DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron. The hotel has generously provided the winners with a one-night stay at the hotel. Insurance Specialists Agency of Marysville is once again providing gift cards for each of our winners, this time in the amount of $500. Additionally, the Port Huron Downtown Development Authority has provided gift certificates for downtown retail merchants that winners can use.

Previous winners:


Advocator of the Year:  Shylah Eagle, Principal, STEAM Academy @ Woodrow Wilson

Innovator of the Year:  Wanda Knott, Intervention Spec./Reading Recovery, Crull Elementary

Educator of the Year:  Jody Becker, Teacher, Self-Contained MiCI, HWMS


Advocator - Chuck Lesser, Principal, Keewahdin Elementary

Innovator - Tammy Marsh, Executive Secretary, PHHS

Educator - Susie Smith, Kindergarten Teacher, Garfield Elementary


Advocator - Laura Nesbitt, Counselor, Fort Gratiot Middle School

Innovator - Mark Repp, District Technology Trainer, Technology Integration Spec.

Educator - Sarah Miller, Special Education Teacher, Early Childhood Center

2020 - Due to the pandemic, the annual awards program was put on hold.


Advocator - Rayna Palmer, Secretary, Central Middle School

Innovator - Tracee Blake, Administrator, Early Childhood Center

Educator - Judy Fiedler, 5th Grade Teacher, Crull Elementary School


Advocator of the Year: Jeanna Roberts, Math/Computer App Teacher at Harrison Center

Innovator of the Year: Mary Jones, Art Teacher at PHHS

Educator of the Year: Karen Brozovich, Kindergarten Teacher at Michigamme Elementary


Advocator of the Year: Pam Patterson, Teacher Consultant for the Hearing Impaired, Indian Woods Elementary

Innovator of the Year: Ann Austin, After School Program Site Coordinator; District Robotics Advisor, Harrison Center

Educator of the Year: Jeffrey Davis, AP US & World History Teacher, Port Huron Northern High School


Advocator of the Year: Nancy Smith, paraprofessional, Roosevelt Elementary

Innovator of the Year: Kirsten Greene, 8th grade teacher, Central Middle

Educator of the Year: Tammy Longuski, teacher, Kimball Elementary


Advocator of the Year: Dawn Schweihofer, 5th grade teacher, Cleveland Elementary

Innovator of the Year: Miranda Landschoot, kindergarten teacher, Keewahdin Elementary

Educator of the Year: Julie Rock, 5th grade teacher, Keewahdin Elementary

#  #  #