2024 Educator of the Year

May 7, 2024

For immediate release


  • Keely Baribeau, PHASD Director of Community Relations,
    (810) 984-3101, ext. 4021; kbaribeau@phasd.us


PORT HURON — For the ninth year, Port Huron Schools has awarded three exceptional staff members in its district with the distinction of Advocator, Innovator and Educator of the Year. The Award is derived from the district’s three mission actions - Advocate, Innovate and Educate. 

The winners are:

  • Advocator of the Year: Georgia Stathakis - Teacher Consultant - Secondary, Special Education

  • Innovator of the Year: Logan Raney - Choir/Guitar Performing Arts Teacher

  • Educator of the Year: Tami Cronce - Kindergarten Teacher

Approximately 133 nominations were made by education colleagues, students, staff and community members. Superintendent Theo Kerhoulas surprised each of the recipients in their classrooms on May 7 with prizes donated by DoubleTree by Hilton Port Huron, Insurance Specialists Agency of Marysville with Meemic, Meijer in Fort Gratiot and Downtown Port Huron. 

“This is one of my favorite days of the entire school year! It is such an exciting way for our district to celebrate our exceptional staff and show our commitment to their success,” noted Mr. Kerhoulas. “Making this announcement in the midst of national Teacher Appreciation Week makes this tradition even more special for Port Huron Schools.”

To view the videos of the surprise classroom announcements please visit @PortHuronSchools on Facebook.  

Previous winners:


Advocator of the Year: Shylah Eagle, Principal, STEAM Academy @ Woodrow Wilson

Innovator of the Year: Wanda Knott, Intervention Spec./Reading Recovery, Crull Elementary

Educator of the Year: Jody Becker, Teacher, Self-Contained MiCI, HWMS


Advocator - Chuck Lesser, Principal, Keewahdin Elementary

Innovator - Tammy Marsh, Executive Secretary, PHHS

Educator - Susie Smith, Kindergarten Teacher, Garfield Elementary


Advocator - Laura Nesbitt, Counselor, Fort Gratiot Middle School

Innovator - Mark Repp, District Technology Trainer, Technology Integration Spec.

Educator - Sarah Miller, Special Education Teacher, Early Childhood Center

2020 - Due to the pandemic, the annual awards program was put on hold.


Advocator - Rayna Palmer, Secretary, Central Middle School

Innovator - Tracee Blake, Administrator, Early Childhood Center

Educator - Judy Fiedler, 5th Grade Teacher, Crull Elementary School


Advocator - Jeanna Roberts, Math/Computer App Teacher at Harrison Center

Innovator - Mary Jones, Art Teacher at PHHS

Educator - Karen Brozovich, Kindergarten Teacher at Michigamme Elementary


Advocator - Pam Patterson, Teacher Consultant for the Hearing Impaired, Indian Woods Elementary

Innovator - Ann Austin, After School Program Site Coordinator; District Robotics Advisor, Harrison Center

Educator - Jeffrey Davis, AP US & World History Teacher, Port Huron Northern High School


Advocator -  Nancy Smith, paraprofessional, Roosevelt Elementary

Innovator -  Kirsten Greene, 8th grade teacher, Central Middle

Educator - Tammy Longuski, teacher, Kimball Elementary


Advocator - Dawn Schweihofer, 5th grade teacher, Cleveland Elementary

Innovator - Miranda Landschoot, kindergarten teacher, Keewahdin Elementary

Educator - Julie Rock, 5th grade teacher, Keewahdin Elementary

#  #  #